2020 Silver Cup South Team Preview

While the annual Silver Cup matches between the women’s associations in Northern and Southern Nevada are known for on-and-off-the-course-camaraderie, it still comes down to competition, there is a trophy (Cup) on the line, and players want to win. In 2020, the Southern Nevada team looks to take back the Silver Cup from the North when the event is played Oct. 27-29 at the Pete Dye-designed Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort. The North won in 2019 and has won four of the last five competitions.

It will be a home game of sorts for Southern Nevada co-captains Laura Smith and Robbin Sanchez, who are both longtime Paiute Resort members.

“We both signed up to be captains once we learned that in 2020 was going to be held at Paiute Golf Resort, so that will make it extra special for us,” Sanchez says. “The first thing that comes to mind about the Silver Cup is how much fun it is and also how challenging the competition is. We have both have played with many of the women on the team before–South and North–and it is also a chance to meet and team up with players we don’t know. Laura-has been a member of about a dozen teams since 2003 and I have played in two previous Silver Cup events.”

The final makeup of Team Southern Nevada was determined during the WSNGA Southern Nevada Amateur championship, also held at the Paiute Resort. As usual, it was a pressure-packed event and the ladies put forth full efforts to earn spots on the team. Since the event is made up of 20 net and gross players, anyone has a chance to play their way onto the team. According to Sanchez, that is another reason why the Silver Cup is such a special experience.

“You don’t have to be a great golfer or a low handicap to be a major contributor to the team,” Sanchez says. “You just have to be a bulldog and keep playing to the end.”

The 2018 Winning Team from the South.

2020 Silver Cup Team Southern Nevada


  • Christina Brandt
  • Ronda Henderson
  • Connie Isler
  • Sherry Jackson
  • Debbie Love
  • Yoshie Masuda
  • Regina Quintero
  • Renee Rocco
  • Laura Smith


  • Kim Bazzelle
  • Rita Byorick
  • Margaret Cashwell
  • Juliet Hebert
  • Janis Lunde
  • Shana Pederson
  • Theresa Prospero
  • Linda Reade
  • Theresa Summers
WordPress Video Lightbox Plugin