Ask the Rules Expert – Cancel a Putt?
Back with another episode of Sue’s Rules with our Hall of Fame expert Sue May. This time discussing when a putt can be canceled?
I know there are times when putting from the putting green my ball hits something and I have to cancel and replay the shot. Could you please tell me when those times are? Was very confusing to me when I tried to look it up.
It comes under Rule 11.1 and yes it can be confusing. Let’s see if I can make it simple for you.
A player makes a stroke from the putting green and it accidentally is deflected by an outside agency also on the putting green.
If the outside agency was a:
*People (another player, spectator, caddie, partner).
*Movable Obstruction: clubs lying on green (not club used for
Stroke), ball in motion, water bottle, hole liner, equipment.
*Animal (not insect)
*Ball is not in or on any of these things.
CANCEL AND REPLAY
A player makes a stroke from the putting green and it accidentally is deflected by:
*Any immovable obstruction
*Any loose impediment
*Any integral object
*The person attending the flagstick
*Club used for stroke
*Ball marker
*Flagstick
*Insect
*Ball at rest
*The player
DO NOT CANCEL AND REPLAY-PLAY BALL AS IT LIES
Recent Posts
- Two Women Earn 2025 Women’s Southern Nevada Golf Amateur Titles and 18 Qualify for Prestigious Silver Cup Matches
- Spotlight and Photos Capture Epic Las Vegas City Week Action
- Hall of Fame Rules Official Deals Out the Info with Funny, Interesting Putting Scenarios
- Women’s Southern Nevada Golf Association Team Play Finale Lives Up to Hype
- Final Hole Birdie, Scorecard Playoff Secure Victories at 2025 Las Vegas City Golf Amateur