Sue’s Rules – Can You Fix That Driver Mid-Round?
Sue May is a Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame rules official who helps officiate local, college, professional and national USGA events. She is back with another rendition of Sue’s Rules.
Question: I was playing in a Tournament and my driver weight came loose. Can I tighten it without penalty?
Sue’s Ruling: If a conforming club is damaged during a round or while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a, except in cases of abuse, the player may repair it or replace it with another club.
Question: Can I fix a ball mark on the putting green that is on my line of play and my ball is off the green?
Sue’s Ruling: Yes you may.
Question: I’m on the putting green and I toss my ball to my caddie or partner to be cleaned. He missed catching it and it went into the water. Do I have to retrieve that ball or can I substitute another one. Is there a penalty if I can’t retrieve the original ball?
Sue’s Ruling: Rule 14.2 covers this situation. If the original ball cannot be recovered with reasonable effort and in a few seconds and the player, partner or caddie did not deliberately cause the ball to become unrecoverable, you may substitute another ball without penalty.
Recent Posts
- Southern Nevada Golf Magnetic Moments with Karen Bernard
- Southern Nevada Golf Association Rules Officials Make National Impact
- Ledzinski, Turk, Foggia And Kanthak Win Titles At The SNGA Tour Championship
- Invitation-Only SNGA Shootout Brings Out the Best Golfers In Each Division
- Four Golfers Win Titles at SNGA Tour at Spanish Trail Country Club



